SME Times is powered by   
Search News
Just in:   • Equity indices break two-day losing streak on value buying  • IMF urges Sri Lanka to tighten monetary policy  • Global semiconductor sales to reach $676 bn this year: Gartner  • Tinna Rubber hits upper circuit, investors accumulate 900% returns in year  • Availability of jobs in Japan improves for 1st time in 3 yrs 
Last updated: 27 Sep, 2014  

Winner of the 2014 International Ibsen Award: Peter Handke

PR Newswire | 20 Mar, 2014
OSLO, Norway: The International Ibsen Award, the world's leading theatre award, is awarded to individuals or institutions that have made a significant contribution to the development of theatre as an art form. The winner receives NOK 2.5 million.

The award was established by the Norwegian Government in 2007 and has previously been awarded to Peter Brook, Ariane Mnouchkine, Jon Fosse and Heiner Goebbels. The jury's citation states that the 2014 International Ibsen Award is being awarded to Peter Handke for "a body of work that is unparalleled in its formal beauty and brilliant reflection", and continues: "If Ibsen was the model playwright of the bourgeois epoch, which has yet to end, Peter Handke is undoubtedly theatre's most eminent epic poet." To read the jury's entire citation, please visit


Password: ibsen

About  Peter  Handke

Peter Handke was born in Kärnten, studied law at the University of Graz from 1961 to 1965, but broke off his studies when his first novel manuscript was accepted in 1965 (Die  Hornissen, 1966). In the same year, the legendary play Publikumsbeschimpfung (Offending  the  Audience) was put on in Frankfurt, directed by Claus Peymann. He has since published more than thirty novels and works of prose, and has written a number of plays and screenplays, including the screenplay for Wim Wenders' well-known, award winning Der  Himmel  über  Berlin  (Wings  of  Desire  or  The  Sky  Above  Berlin,  1987). He has won a number of international awards for his literary work and is regarded today as one of the great names of European literature. Handke lives in Chaville outside Paris.

About  The  International  Ibsen  Award

    The award ceremony will take place on 21 September during the Ibsen Festival at the National Theatre in Oslo. Peter Handke's Immer  noch  Sturm will close the festival.
    The award is funded by the Norwegian Government via the Ministry of Culture and is awarded every second year on Henrik Ibsen's birthday.
    The committee consists of: Per Boye Hansen (Chair), Therese Bjørneboe (Deputy Chair), Hanne Tømta, Christiane Schneider, Sir Brian McMaster, Dr Thomas Oberender, and Roman Dolzhanskiy.
    The award has previously been won by Peter Brook, Ariane Mnouchkine, Jon Fosse and Heiner Goebbels.
    Henrik Ibsen was born in Skien on 20 March 1828.

For more about the award, this year's winner and photos visit:

For more information please contact Anne Berentsen, +47-99-52-44-38 /


SOURCE The National Theatre in Oslo

Print the Page Add to Favorite
Share this on :

Please comment on this story:
Subject :
(Maximum 1500 characters)  Characters left 1500
Your name:

  Customs Exchange Rates
Currency Import Export
US Dollar
UK Pound
Japanese Yen 58.85 56.85
As on 27 Apr, 2022
  Daily Poll
COVID-19 has directly affected your business
 Can't say
  Commented Stories
About Us  |   Advertise with Us  
  Useful Links  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Disclaimer  |   Contact Us  
Follow Us : Facebook Twitter