SME Times is powered by   
Search News
Just in:   • Adani Group to invest Rs 57,575 crore in Odisha  • 'Dollar Distancing' finally happening? Time for India to pitch Rupee as credible alternative: SBI Ecowrap  • 49% Indian startups now from tier 2, 3 cities: Jitendra Singh  • 'India ranks 3rd in global startup ecosystem & number of unicorns'  • LinkedIn lays off entire global events marketing team: Report 
Last updated: 10 Jul, 2024  

Himachal Map THMB Three Himachal Assembly seats record 71 pc voting

Himachal Map
   Top Stories
» 28 Indian startups raised over $800 mn in funding this week
» GST Council waives interest, penalty on notices to taxpayers under Section 73
» India's innovation ecosystem poised for exponential growth: Industry
» India's innovation ecosystem poised for exponential growth: Industry
» Overseas Indians faith grows in Indian economy with $1 billion deposits in April
IANS | 10 Jul, 2024

A voter turnout of over 71 per cent was recorded on Wednesday till 7 pm in the bypoll for three Assembly constituencies of Himachal Pradesh that were largely peaceful, officials said.

The Nalagarh constituency recorded the highest polling of 78 per cent, followed by Hamirpur (67.7 per cent) and Dehra (65.42 per cent), according to the Election Commission of India.

A voter turnout of 30 per cent was recorded in the first four hours for three Assembly seats.

As many as 13 candidates are in the fray and the 2.59 lakh voters were eligible to cast their votes.

The polling is being conducted to fill vacancies created by the resignation of incumbent members. The ballots will be counted on July 13.

In a straight contest between traditional arch-rivals, the Congress and the BJP, the stakes are high for Chief Minister Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu with his wife Kamlesh Thakur making her electoral debut from Dehra in Kangra district.

This constituency was carved out after delimitation in 2010 and the Congress has never won this seat.

The Chief Minister campaigned aggressively in Dehra, compared to two other seats, to ensure victory for Kamlesh Thakur, who is in the fray against BJP nominee Hoshiyar Singh, who won the seat as an Independent candidate in 2022 for the second consecutive time.

To woo the electorate, CM Sukhu said during campaigning that Dehra would technically get a CM if they elect his wife.

The main Opposition BJP, which has won all four seats in the just-concluded parliamentary elections, has fielded KL Thakur from Nalagarh and Ashish Sharma from Hamirpur, where they will be pitted against the Congress' Hardeep Bawa and Pushpendra Verma, respectively.

Both KL Thakur and Ashish Sharma won the seats as Independent candidates in 2022 before joining the BJP earlier this year.

The duo, along with Hoshiyar Singh, resigned from the Assembly in March and joined the BJP.

Earlier, in a major reprieve to the government, the Congress won four out of six Assembly bypoll on June 4. However, it lost all four Lok Sabha seats to the BJP for the third time in a row.

With four new legislators, the Congress has stabilised its government in the state. At present, the Congress has 38 MLAs in the Assembly of 65, while the BJP has 27.

Print the Page
Add to Favorite
Share this on :

Please comment on this story:
Subject :
(Maximum 1500 characters)  Characters left 1500
Your name:

  Customs Exchange Rates
Currency Import Export
US Dollar
UK Pound
Japanese Yen 58.85 56.85
As on 13 Aug, 2022
  Daily Poll
Will the Budget 2024 be MSME friendly
 Can't say
  Commented Stories
» GIC Re's revenue from obligatory cession threatened(1)
About Us  |   Advertise with Us  
  Useful Links  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Disclaimer  |   Contact Us  
Follow Us : Facebook Twitter