SME Times is powered by   
Search News
Just in:   • Equity indices break two-day losing streak on value buying  • IMF urges Sri Lanka to tighten monetary policy  • Global semiconductor sales to reach $676 bn this year: Gartner  • Tinna Rubber hits upper circuit, investors accumulate 900% returns in year  • Availability of jobs in Japan improves for 1st time in 3 yrs 
Last updated: 12 May, 2022  

Colombo.Plan.9.Thmb.jpg SL court bans ex-PM Rajapaksa, son & 14 others from leaving country

   Top Stories
» Net direct tax collection reaches highest-ever figure in FY 22
» Musk has to manufacture here to sell Tesla cars in India: Gadkari
» Round tripping of industrial inputs by large players unfavourable to local value chains
» Sitharaman engages investors in Silicon Valley
» Modi hails India's success in achieving target of $400 billion of exports
IANS | 12 May, 2022
A Sri Lankan court on Thursday banned former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and 15 others, including his son, MPs and senior police officers from leaving the country, for instigating Monday's violence that killed nine people and injured over 300.

Colombo's Magistrate court issued the travel ban on Mahinda Rajapaksa, his son MP Namal,
and 14 others who participated in Monday's meeting with his supporters who later carried out violent attacks on peaceful protesters in front of his house and his President's office.

The Attorney General Sanjaya Rajarantam, who has directed the Inspector General of Police (IGP) to investigate the violent attacks on peaceful protesters, had informed the courts to impose a ban on the former PM and others.

Mahinda Rajapaksa, his son and others, who were present at the meeting, need to be present in Sri Lanka for the ongoing investigations on the attacks as they were suspected to have conspired and planned the attacks.

The pro-Rajapaksa supporters, who protested against Rajapaska leaving his post were later armed with clubs, poles and iron bars, had attacked the protesters.

The protesters had been camping for more than a month demanding the Rajapaksas to leave amid a severe economic crisis.

Among others against whom the travel ban has been imposed were former ministers -- Pavithra Wanniarachchi, Kanchana Jayaratne, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Sanath Nishantha, other MPs and senior DIG Deshabandu Thennakoon.

Print the Page
Add to Favorite
Share this on :

Please comment on this story:
Subject :
(Maximum 1500 characters)  Characters left 1500
Your name:

  Customs Exchange Rates
Currency Import Export
US Dollar
UK Pound
Japanese Yen 58.85 56.85
As on 27 Apr, 2022
  Daily Poll
COVID-19 has directly affected your business
 Can't say
  Commented Stories
About Us  |   Advertise with Us  
  Useful Links  |   Terms and Conditions  |   Disclaimer  |   Contact Us  
Follow Us : Facebook Twitter